ACS attends the World Governments Summit

Secretary General, Rodolfo Sabonge was invited by Omar Sultan Al Olama, Minister of State for Artificial Intelligence, Digital Economy and Remote Work Applications to participate in the World Governments Summit, held in Dubai from February 12 – 14.  

This year´s event included high level speakers such as Prof. Klaus Schuwab, Founder and Executive Chairman of the World Economic Forum, H.E. Ajay Banga, President of the World Bank, H.E. Dr. Tedros Chabreyesus, Director General of the World Health Organisation, the President of Turkiye, Recep Tayyip Erdogan, the President of the Republic of Rwanda, H.E. Paul Kagame, H.E. Dr. Abdulhamid Alkhalifa, Director General OPEC,  H.E. Mathias Cormann, Secretary General, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, H.E. Manuel Marrero Cruz, Prime Minister of the Republic of Cuba, H.E. Mostafa Madbouly, Prime Minister of the Arab Republic of Egypt,  and the main address by the Prime Minister of the Republic of India, RT. Hon. Narendra Modi.  

The main theme of the Conference was “Shaping the Future Governments” with a focus on Artificial Intelligence, Geopolitical Changes, Climate Change, and Sustainable Development.  SG Sabonge had the opportunity to discuss ACS´s challenges with Her Excellency Ohood bint Khalfan Al Roumi, The Minister of State for Government Development and the Future, as well as with Dr. Tahani Alterkait, Advisor to the GCC, regarding the MOU and Joint Action Plan (JAP) that were signed in September of last year in the margins of the UN General Assembly.  SG Sabonge also had the opportunity to thank H.E Ahmed Al Sayegh, Minister of Foreign Affairs, for the kind invitation and to congratulate the UAE for an excellent Summit.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.