ACS and the Port Management Association of the Caribbean host Webinar on the Status of the Panama Canal

The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) in collaboration with the Port Management Association of the Caribbean (PMAC) successfully hosted a webinar on April 2, 2024, focusing on the critical topic, "Status of the Panama Canal: Impacts and Implications for Global Supply Chains." This webinar was organised to address the pressing issues posed by the severe drought conditions affecting the Panama Canal's operations and, consequently, the global supply chain industries reliant on this crucial maritime route.

Moderated by Mr. Darwin Telemaque, Chairman of PMAC, the seminar facilitated a rich dialogue among featured speakers and transport industry experts. The goal was to delve into the challenges and explore effective strategies for adaptation considering the canal's operational challenges.

The panel of distinguished speakers included ACS Secretary General, Rodolfo Sabonge, renowned for his expertise in Strategic Foresight, Market Research, and Competitive Intelligence within the logistics, transportation, maritime development, and ports sectors; Robert Barcelo, Business Development Manager for Port Everglades, recognised for his ocean carrier proficiency; and Boris Moreno, Vice President of Panama Canal Operations, who shared invaluable insights on the canal's current situation and its broader impact.

The webinar proved to be an enlightening session for all participants, shedding light on the significant role of the Panama Canal in facilitating regional trade and emphasizing the collective commitment of both ACS and PMAC towards fostering the development of the Greater Caribbean region through informed collaboration and strategic initiatives.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.