ACS and Venezuela to host High Level Meeting of Tourism Authorities

The Association of Caribbean States, under the leadership of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela in their capacity as Chair of the Special Committee on Sustainable Tourism, will host a High Level Meeting of Tourism Authorities. Carded for the 16th - 17th March 2022, this High-Level meeting will assemble regional tourism leaders, high level public sector officials, development agencies and experts in tourism development to bolster industry recovery in the Greater Caribbean region.

This virtual meeting, held under the theme of “Stabilize, Revitalise, and Thrive – Enhanced Trajectories for Sustainable Tourism Recovery in the Greater Caribbean”, will engage expert speakers and participants through two days of targeted discussion and analysis on issues surrounding regional tourism resilience, reactivation and strengthening, as tourism continues to recalibrate for a post-COVID-19 future.

Responsible and sustainable tourism recovery best practice and strategies will be brought into focus, as regional stakeholders interrogate the issues of rebuilding visitor confidence, strengthening tourism value chains, sustainability leadership, stakeholder cooperation and harnessing tourism as a tool for responsible development.

In keeping with its mandate of consultation, cooperation and concerted action, the ACS has confirmed the support of a diverse selection of local, regional and international experts concerned with sustainable tourism development. Participants will therefore benefit from the insights tourism leaders and partners from the Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC), CARICOM’s Implementation Agency for Crime and Security (CARICOM IMPACS), World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), GLP Films, Central American Tourism Agency (CATA), CAF- Latin American Development Bank among others, for the benefit of tourism stakeholders who are intrinsically linked to the industry.

For more information please contact the Directorate of Trade and Sustainable Development:

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.