Secretary General invited to second Antalya Diplomacy Forum

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of Turkey, H.E. Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu, has invited the Secretary General of the Association of Caribbean States, H.E. Rodolfo Sabonge, to participate in the second Antalya Diplomacy Forum to be held on 11-13 March 2022 in Antalya, Turkey.

The Antalya Diplomacy Forum is a high-level gathers agents of diplomacy such as government officials, international organization representatives, opinion makers, diplomats, academics, as well as the representatives of the NGO's and the private sector. The forum was convened, in person, for the first time,  in June 2021.

In a pandemic stricken world where opportunities for in person engagement, the cornerstone of traditional diplomacy has been severely limited, the Forum provides a space for a physical interaction that enables the mutual understanding, learning and exchange that underpin meaningful negotiation, constructive dialogue and idea sharing  between and amongst nation representatives. As the global community continues to seek the peace, safety and progress of its constituent populations therefore, the exchange facilitated by this Diplomatic Forum is especially valuable.

The theme of this second forum will be "Recoding Diplomacy". Humanity needs robust diplomacy to resolve tensions, manage change, facilitate adaptation and promote cooperation. For this, diplomacy must stay innovative, efficient, and effective. In turn, it requires composite efforts towards re-evaluation, reaffirmation and restoration, in other words, a recoding.

The Republic of Turkey, a valued Observer to the ACS since 2000, has contributed financially to both the Association's flagship project, Sandy Shorelines and its Artisans Project thereby supporting the Association’s efforts to combat climate change and promote sustainable tourism and strengthen cultural industries.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.