Integration of Martinique and Guadeloupe as Associate Members of the ACS in their own right

Photo courtesy Martinique 1ere

Port of Spain, (April 14th 2014) – History has been created as Martinique and Guadeloupe officially became Associate Members of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS) in their own right. The signing ceremonies to officially mark the event took place on Friday 11th April and Monday 14th April in these countries respectively. Preceding this event, on 14th February 2014, during the 19th Ordinary Meeting of the Ministerial Council, the ACS endorsed the draft accession agreement, accepting these French Overseas Territories.

H.E. Alfonso Múnera in his capacity as Secretary General, signed on behalf of the ACS, President of the Regional Council of Martinique, H.E. Serge Letchimy, on behalf of Martinique and H.E. Josette Borel-Lincertin, on behalf of Guadeloupe. 


This event symbolizes a new era of political integration for these countries in their natural geographical Caribbean environment.


This journey commenced on 12th December 2012, by missive of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of France which confirmed its agreement for direct membership of Martinique and Guadeloupe as Associate Members to the ACS. This application was presented in April 2013 at the Summit of Heads of State of the AEC in Haiti.


The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of France appointed H.E. Fred Constant, Ambassador of France assigned to Cooperation Affairs, , who also witnessed the signing, to hand deliver the official document authorizing the Presidents of the Region to sign the international agreement.

The signing of the Protocol, Protocol modifying the Agreement between the Government of the French Republic, as an Associate Member, and the Association of Caribbean States signed in Mexico on 24  May 1996,  between the French Republic and the ACS will take place on Wednesday 16th April 2014 at 3:00pm. The protocol reflects the changed arrangement between the ACS and the French Republic. France will now represent the territories of Saint Martin, Saint Barthelemy and French Guiana in the activities of the ACS. This is an amendment to the previous Agreement which recognised the representation of France on behalf of Martinique, Guadeloupe and French Guiana. 


The inauguration ceremony will be held during the VI Summit of Head of State and Government of the ACS on April 30, 2014 in Merida, Mexico.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.