

Port of Spain (March 2, 2010) – The Secretariat of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS), conveys its solidarity and condolences to the people and government of Chile affected by the devastating 8.8-magnitude earthquake, which occurred on Saturday 27 February 2010.

The ACS Secretariat calls upon its Member States and Associate Members, as well as members of the international Community with the capacity do to so, to contribute to the relief effort consistent with the needs as communicated by the Chilean authorities.

Chile is an Observer Country to the ACS. The other Observer Countries are: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, India, Italy, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Korea, Morocco, Peru, Russia, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, and the United Kingdom.