

# Agreement Approving the Appointment of High Level Officials of the Secretariat of the Association of Caribbean States

**ASSOCIATION OF CARIBBEAN STATES (ACS)** 

18<sup>TH</sup> ORDINARY MEETING OF THE MINISTERIAL COUNCIL Panama City, Panama: February 22, 2013



ORIGINAL: ENGLISH Last Updated: January 26, 2013

## ASSOCIATION OF CARIBBEAN STATES (ACS)

# EIGHTEENTH ORDINARY MEETING OF THE MINISTERIAL COUNCIL Panama City, Panama, February 22, 2013

## Agreement No. 5/13

## APPOINTMENT OF HIGH LEVEL OFFICIALS OF THE SECRETARIAT OF THE ASSOCIATION OF CARIBBEAN STATES

The Ministerial Council,

#### Pursuant to:

Article IX, sub-paragraph (e) of the Convention Establishing the Association of Caribbean States;

The decision taken by the Ministerial Council on the election of a High Level Official of the Secretariat, approved according to the structure presented as Annex II of Agreement No. 2/95 and in accordance with the procedure provided in Agreement No. 8/95 of the Ministerial Council;

### Considering:

The candidatures of Mr Julio Eduardo Orozco, Mr Alberto Duran and Dr Janine Dawkins, presented for election as High Level Officials of the Secretariat, by the Governments of Guatemala, the Dominican Republic and Jamaica respectively;

That the candidatures presented comply with the procedure established at the 18<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Meeting of the Council of Ministers held in Panama City, Republic of Panama;

That the candidatures presented are in accordance with the principle of geographic distribution, taking into consideration the different regional subgroups and the need for a high degree of competence, specialisation and professional experience;

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Last Updated: January 26, 2013

#### **AGREES:**

1. To elect Mr Julio Eduardo Orozco, Mr Alberto Duran and Dr Janine Dawkins as High Level Officials of the Secretariat, for a period of three years counted from the formal commencement of duties;

- 2. To instruct the Secretary General to prepare the contracts of Mr Julio Eduardo Orozco, Mr Alberto Duran and Dr Janine Dawkins, in accordance with paragraph 1 of this Agreement;
- 3. That the outgoing Directors shall formally submit to the new Directors, detailed reports on the programmes of action, projects and other activities of the Special Committees under his/her responsibility;
- 4. That the handing over period referred to in paragraph 5 of this Agreement, shall not exceed 5 days.