The Association of Caribbean States Supports Cuba's Removal from the List of Countries Not Cooperating in Anti-Terrorism Efforts

The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) reiterates its call for the removal of the unjust designation of Cuba as a State that sponsors terrorism, as agreed upon in their highest meeting of Heads of State and Government at the 9th Summit in La Antigua, Guatemala on May 12th, 2023.

The ACS considers the decision of the Government of the United States of America to remove the Republic of Cuba from the list of countries that do not fully cooperate with counter-terrorism efforts to be a positive step.

Cuba's permanence on this list has a paralysing effect on banks, financial institutions, businesses, and investors; it affects the country's revenue and payments to international organisations, affects the strengthening of regional multilateralism, and constitutes an obstacle to the inclusion of this Member State in the projects of the Association, which has cooperation in key areas of the Greater Caribbean as one of its objectives.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.