Press Release - ACS expresses condemnation of the failed coup attempt perpetrated against the Government of Bolivia

The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) expresses condemnation of the failed coup attempt perpetrated against the Government of Bolivia, on June 26, 2024. This act of insurrection not only constitutes a serious threat to the stability and peace of Bolivia, but also undermines the fundamental principles of democracy and the rule of law that all ACS member states strongly defend.

We reaffirm our unwavering commitment to the sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity of Bolivia, as well as to respect for democratic processes. The Bolivian people have once again demonstrated their desire to live in an environment of peace and democracy, and it is essential that their rights and decisions be fully respected.

We call on all sectors of Bolivian society to remain calm and refrain from any act of violence. It is essential that political differences be resolved through dialogue and established institutional mechanisms, thus ensuring the preservation of peace and stability.

The ACS stands in full solidarity with the Government and people of Bolivia in these times of challenge.

We reiterate our readiness to strengthen democracy and ensure peace and stability in the region. The ACS will continue to be vigilant and support all initiatives that contribute to Bolivia's continued path of progress and development in an environment of peace and democracy.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.