ACS reiterates its rejection of the economic blockade in meeting with Cuban deputy minister

The Secretary General of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS), Rodolfo Sabonge, met with the First Deputy Minister of the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Foreign Investment (MINCEX) of Cuba, Ana Teresita González Fraga.

During the conversation, Sabonge and González Fraga examined in detail the negative impact that the economic, commercial and financial embargo imposed on Cuba since 1960 has had, affecting various sectors and hindering the country's progress.

In this context, the ACS reaffirmed its rejection of the economic blockade imposed on Cuba, which has been repeated at successive Summits of Heads of State and/or Government, stressing its influence on access to resources and hindering the nation's sustainable growth.

In addition, both leaders discussed possible cooperation mechanisms that could contribute to mitigating the adverse impacts that Cuba faces in this complex scenario.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.