24th Intersessional Preparatory Meeting for the 27th Ordinary Meeting of the ACS Ministerial Council

24th Intersessional Preparatory Meeting group photo


24th Intersessional Preparatory Meeting for the 27th Ordinary Meeting of the ACS Ministerial Council, chaired by Mexico, was held virtually. Seventeen Member States and three Associate Members were present at this meeting.

During the meeting, the Secretary referred to the COVID 19 pandemic as a threat that can be compared to man's voracious appetite for resources for so-called "progress" based on economic growth, at the cost of lives, livelihoods, health and opportunities, especially those of the most vulnerable. 

Senator, Dr. the Honourable Amery Browne, Minister of Foreign Affairs and CARICOM Affairs of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, was also present. He highlighted the current context as a call to rebuild the ACS, noting that ACS plans can be included in national plans and reiterated the commitment of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago to the Partnership. He then urged continued hard work towards achieving the goals of the ACS, the fulfilment of the SDGs, which are key to the development and protection of the region.

The Secretary highlighted the work carried out by the Directorates and Committees, and pointed out the importance of taking advantage of the resources at our disposal and the information and communication technologies, for the benefit of the vision of the Region.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.