Turkey & ACS Explore Further Cooperation

Secretary General Rodolfo Sabonge paid a courtesy call to the Ambassador of the Republic of Turkey Bengü Yiğitgüden in Port-of-Spain. SG Sabonge thanked Turkey for its continued interest in cooperating on ACS projects in sustainable tourism and coastal erosion.

SG Sabonge extended condolences on behalf of the ACS to the government and people of Turkey in the aftermath of last week’s powerful earthquake, which claimed at least 64 lives.

Ambassador Yiğitgüden expressed Turkey’s desire to continue working with the countries of the region, developing cooperation initiatives in culture, sustainable tourism and marketing, transport, and training and development.

Turkey has been an Observer of the ACS since 2000.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.