29th Meeting of the Special Committee on Sustainable Tourism

The Directorate of Sustainable Tourism (DST) of the Association of Caribbean States (ACS) held its 29th Meeting of the Special Committee on Sustainable Tourism on June 14th, 2018. The Special Committee meeting was hosted at the ACS Secretariat in Port of Spain, the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. Sixteen (16) Member States, two (2) Associate Member States, two (2) Observer Countries, one (1) Founding Observer and one (1) Observer Organization as well as two (2) Special Invited Guests via videoconference participated in the meeting.


The topics of discussion included the following:

1)    The implementation of initiatives on Community-Based Tourism focusing on Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMEs) in Tourism

2)    Innovation in strengthening Capacity Building in the Tourism Sector

3)    Fostering the implementation of the Indicators of the Sustainable Tourism Zone of the Greater Caribbean (STZC)

4)    Multidestination Tourism  and Air Connectivity

5)    Synergies with tourism partners in sustainability


In addition, during this meeting, Member States discussed the way forward for the formulation of the 2019-2021 ACS Plan of Action.

Finally, the Meeting expressed interest in showcasing tourism destinations of the Greater Caribbean, through the sharing of information regarding success stories in destination marketing. As a result, the DST will dedicate the 17th Edition of its Newsletter, “In the Zone” to highlight the aforementioned.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.