The 61st UNWTO Commission for the Americas

61st  Meeting of the UNWTO Regional Commission for the Americas, organized by the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO). The meeting is being held in San Salvador, El Salvador and Roatan, Honduras on May 30th –  June 1st, 2017. The Meeting of the Commission will be followed by the International Seminar on New Technologies Applied to Tourism which will focus on three main topics:


•             ICTs and Tourism Observatories

•             Big Data and Tourism

•             New Platform Tourism Services


Stakeholders of the global tourism sector are participating in this event and will be discussing the importance of new technologies within the tourism industry. The advancement of technology has not only significantly improved the quality of service, but it has also been integral in increasing competitiveness and economic development through effective marketing strategies, promotion of tourist destinations, bridging culture gaps, promoting diverse employment opportunities and effective public relations management. Therefore, with the support of the UNWTO and the ACS the tourism sector within the Caribbean Region will be empowered by adopting new technologies and equipped to continue on the road to success.

About the ACS

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.